Management of Government Owned Horticulture Farms

B. R. Kaini



At present, there are 21 government horticulture farms under the Department of Agriculture and 4 under NARC. The NARC also has horticultural units in Agricultural Research Stations of Pakhribas, Tarahara, Parwanipur, Lumle, and Nepalgunj. There are abundant examples of positive contributions made by government farms to horticulture development. Apple production in Jumla and Mustang, vegetable seed production in Rukum, junar production in Sindhuli and Ramechhap and fresh vegetable production in Kavre, Dhading, Sarlahi, Para, Parsa, Rautahot and mandarin orange production in Dhankuta are some of the examples of farm contributions. The system of farm operation has not been effective due to the many reasons: Basic objectives assigned to the government farms at the time of their establishment are now redundant as private sectors and NGOs have started to take up some of those functions. Thus, the roles of the government farms should be redefined in the changed context and management system needs to be adjusted accordingly.

Published Year

Volume 9

Issue 1